Foreign Relations

Granted by the nation as one of the open cities along the Yangtze River in 1992, Wuhan has gradually become a hot area in attracting foreign investments. Among the Global 500 international enterprises, 84 have already invested in Wuhan. The French Consulate General in Wuhan, the US Consulate General in Wuhan and ROK Consulate General in Wuhan were set up in 1998, 2008 and 2011 respectively.

Wuhan enjoys ever-closer exchanges with other countries and regions in the world in economy, trade, science and technology, education, culture and all the other fields as well as dynamic and friendly ties with the governments, people and social organizations. Now it has 17 sister cities around the world, namely Oita in Japan, Pittsburgh in the United States, Duisburg in Germany, Manchester in the United Kingdom, Galati in Romania, Kiev in Ukraine, Khartoum in Sudan, Gyor in Hungary, Bordeaux in France, Arnhem in Netherlands, Cheong Ju in South Korea, Sankt Polten in Austria, Christchurch in New Zealand, Markham in Canada, Borlange in Sweden, Kopavogur in Iceland and Ashdod in Israel.